The Change…

I was chosen to sample Campbell’s Organic Soup, through http://www.momsmeet.com, and my first reaction was a skeptical one.  I have never gravitated towards canned or boxed soups, mainly because the taste is either too salty or too watery, and frankly I just like making homemade soup myself.  I have not purchased a Campbells soup product in years and the reason being we are mostly an organic family that tries to eat as clean as possible.  I admit I will try a product by any company as long as it is organic, even if the company in my mind is not ‘trustworthy.’  The flavors my family sampled were Butternut Squash, Tomato Basil, Chicken Tortilla & Disney Frozen Cool Shapes Pasta (translated a variation of Chicken Noodle).   The consensus after trying were 2 thumbs up all the way around.  The Butternut Squash had the right amount of consistency in texture, Tomato Basil was smooth with a little texture, Chicken Tortilla was blended with just the right amount of spice and the Cool Shapes Pasta, which had to pass the hardest test because the critics were ages 8,5,3, passed with flying colors.  Although I think the Cool Shapes Pasta was more mental for my kids in liking the soup, as Disney Frozen characters were on the packaging.

Here are some fast facts about the soups:

  1. Organic, farm-grown ingredients
  2. No preservatives
  3. Non-GMO
  4. Cartons have no BPA
  5. Gluten-free
  6. Vegetarian options
  7. Price is $2.82 (Wal-mart) I find reasonable for one meal

My only negative comment about these soups is the containers are really a one serving/one person carton.  In regards to serving these soups to my family, yes I would.  Its a quick go to meal for those crazy days when I need to feed my family of five, and I want it to be nurishing for their growing bodies and minds.  I have to say kudos to Campbells for making a small change to there company & diversifying the market to include “Crunchy” people like me.  I now trust Campbells a little bit more, because upon making these organic soups, it lets me know that they care a small amount about what consumers are putting into there bodies.  So thank you Campbells!

 

One thought on “The Change…

Leave a Reply

