Into The Woods

Being a mother to a male child has its moments where I question whether or not I am raising him to his full potential.  He is everything I am not and wild at heart to the fullest.  We recently searched for a house that contained a backyard with trees and found one with a forest, or should I say an acre and a half of land with many trees.  His eagerness to explore this new property of ours was without delay, and entered the territory full of adventure, hope and ready to conquer anything that may lay in the path of his fierce sword.  Watching him I began to wonder what drew him into these woods, were the trees inviting him to come, was the earth needing conquering or was his heart so engaged in nature that staying away was torterous to his very own soul?  I was eager to find out and follow my spirited son to catch a glimpse into his world through his eyes. 

15965898_10154704834346131_7457282650665256001_n
“Children are born naturalists. They explore the world with all of their senses, experiment in the environment, and communicate their discoveries to those around them.” The Audubon Nature Preschool

Following him led me to many unexpected paths.  We obeserved nature in the most precarious ways.  A solo frog trying to catch a glimpse of the sun, before sensing our presence & escaping to his natural home.  The twisted vine that instintly becomes a swing to joyously glid back and forth over the creek.  Then there is the creek, that consistently fills his boots with water, only because he senses the need to wade into deeper parts.  I stand there in awe as to the simplicity of his mind to see nature for what it truly is and how he transforms it into a playground all his own.  I am left with a a sense of inspiration that I feel strongly in my soul.  For my boy has brought an awareness to me that I cannot forget.  I must feel deeply, see differently and own my feelings of creativity.

16002738_10154704834251131_9197660815421485770_n
“As a child, one has that magical capacity to move among the many eras of the earth; to see the land as an animal does; to experience the sky from the perspective of a flower or a bee; to feel the earth quiver and breathe beneath us; to know a hundred different smells of mud and listen unself- consciously to the soughing of the trees.” Valerie Andrews

I still had my question ‘what does these woods contain that begs him to come to play’, and in the most unexpected place I found my answer.  Upon reading this book to my younger child I found the answer I was looking for with my son.  He has a great sense to always have ‘Dirt on his shirt.’  This simple poem explained to me the reason my son is the way he is, and to just accept what I have been given.  For this I am grateful!

15994342_10154704965826131_6424749763460904678_o.jpg  

What inspires your kids to be themselves & live freely?

~~~ Pam 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

